Divine Concerns

Deities, regardless of alignment, appreciate things sacrificed in their name. Each deity prefers some specific sort of sacrifice, depending upon their own particular dogma, but all will accept offerings of most types. The preferred sacrifices include taking on temporary ability score damage, blood spilled in the god’s name, and material goods with relatively high gold piece values. See individual abilities for the definition of a ‘unit’ for that ability. Other sacrifices may be acceptable, and should be similar in value as the above. Sacrifice types can be mixed, so a priest could offer half ability score damage and half hit point damage. Using a sacrifice other than the preferred type requires an expenditure of 1.5 times the above listed amount, round up the final total.

DeityPreferred Sacrifice
HavrekAbility score damage (Str)
LilaesMaterial goods (silver)
TamrinBlood (unwilling subjects)
RimachAbility score damage
OturnBlood (willing subjects)
SarkiaMaterial goods
BesilleMaterial goods (gemstones)
FocadeAll sacrifices are considered ‘preferred’
MezanneSex acts (unwilling subjects)

Where a more specific notation is given in parenthesis, anything that meets the type requirement but not the parenthetical notation requirement is considered to not be the preferred sacrifice.

Deific Wrath
A deity becomes wrathful towards a worshipper when they violate tenets of the faith, cause one of their special creatures (like an agent) to be slain, or take any sort of similar action that the deity find unpalatable. Only those characters who actively worship a deity, such as priests and chosen, can actually invoke that deity’s wrath. A character who manages to invoke deific wrath loses access to all class abilities and suffers a –2 penalty to every die roll she makes until she atones. In this case, ‘class abilities’ does not include saving throws, base attack bonus, hit points, actual weapon proficiencies, skill points, or ability score increases and feats gained at character levels, but it does include everything else.

Atonement is typically achieved through prayer and fasting that lasts at least one day per level of the transgressor, along with a sacrifice of one unit per level every day. In extreme cases, a quest while under the penalties of wrath may be required.

Contents Page Bard Class Chosen Class Druid Class Healer Class Mage Class Priest Class Ranger Class Spellthief Class Telekinetic Class Warlock Class Seed Rules Seeds Magic Item Creation Feats Skills Metamagic Abilities Druid Special Abilities Healer Special Abilities